Add your company website/link
to this blog page for only $40 Purchase now!Continue
FutureStarrHow to Calculate 10 Percent Increase OR
This case study will walk you through the formulas behind calculating a 10% increase in revenue, as well as how to measure the ROI of different marketing channels.
The concept of percent increase is basically the amount of increase from the original number to the final number in terms of 100 parts of the original. An increase of 5 percent would indicate that, if you split the original value into 100 parts, that value has increased by an additional 5 parts. So if the original value increased by 14 percent, the value would increase by 14 for every 100 units, 28 by every 200 units and so on. To make this even more clear, we will get into an example using the percent increase formula in the next section.Percentage increase is useful when you want to analyse how a value has changed with time. Although percentage increase is very similar to absolute increase, the former is more useful when comparing multiple data sets. For example, a change from 1 to 51 and from 50 to 100 both have an absolute change of 50, but the percentage increase for the first is 5000%, while for the second it is 100%, so the first change grew a lot more. This is why percentage increase is the most common way of measuring growth.
Let us say your salary is $50,000 and you were offered a 20% increase, then to calculate your new salary do: $50,000 + $50,000 * 20 / 100 = $50,000 + $50,000 * 0.2 = $50,000 + $10,000 = $60,000. Let us say you have been approached with an opportunity for a new job and they offer you $60,000 instead of your current $50,000 salary. What is the percentage increase from the difference of $10,000? We plug the numbers into the first formula above to get $60,000 / $50,000 * 100 - 100 = 1.2 * 100 - 100 = 120 - 100 = 20% increase. You can verify this using this online percent increase calculator.Say you are running a small business and you have an average revenue of $20,000 per month by serving 20 customers a month, and you want to increase your revenue by 20%. How many new customers would you need? You need to multiply 20 by 20% and add 20, so that is 5 + 20 = 25. So you would need to serve 5 more customers to a total of 25 customers per month, in order to increase your revenue by 20%, assuming that revenue per customer stays the same. (Source: www.gigacalculator.com)