Add your company website/link
to this blog page for only $40 Purchase now!Continue
FutureStarrWhere do oats come from
A little-known but much-loved cereal has many origins. Oats are generally thought of as having a heavy, malty flavor and are often ground up for porridge, as a topping for a baked good, or eaten as a base for a hearty soup.When considering worldwide consumption, oats are nearly as popular as rice. However, many of us are unfamiliar with how they are grown, what the look like, how they are processed and what part of the world they come from.Do oats come from wheat? No, oats do not come from wheat. Oats come from the Avena sativa plant, which is a type of cereal grain that can be considered a distant relative within the grass family. Raw oats are gluten free, while wheat contains the protein gluten.
To minimize the risk of gluten coming in contact with the oats, manufactures set aside facilities that do specifically process wheat free foods. If you have an allergy, it’s recommended to purchase certified gluten free oats and make sure to check the package to ensure that processing equipment is not shared with grains that do contain gluten. oats, (Avena sativa), domesticated cereal grass (family Poaceae) grown primarily for its edible starchy grains. Oats are widely cultivated in the temperate regions of the world and are second only to rye in their ability to survive in poor soils. Although oats are used chiefly as livestock feed, some are processed for human consumption, especially as breakfast foods. The plants provide good hay and, under proper conditions, furnish excellent grazing and make good silage (stalk feed preserved by fermentation).
Common oats are grown in cool temperate regions; red oats, more heat tolerant, are grown mainly in warmer climates. With sufficient moisture, the crop will grow on soils that are sandy, low in fertility, or highly acidic. The plants are relatively free from diseases and pests, though they are susceptible to rust and anthracnose on their stems and leaves.Oats have numerous uses in foods; most commonly, they are rolled or crushed into oatmeal, or ground into fine oat flour. Oatmeal is chiefly eaten as porridge, but may also be used in a variety of baked goods, such as oatcakes, oatmeal cookies, and oat bread. Oats are also an ingredient in many cold cereals, in particular muesli and granola. Oats are also used for production of milk substitutes ("oat milk").Winter oats may be grown as an off-season groundcover and ploughed under in the spring as a green fertilizer, or harvested in early summer. They also can be used for pasture; they can be grazed a while, then allowed to head out for grain production, or grazed continuously until other pastures are ready. (Source: en.wikipedia.org)